“During the early seventies I conceived a way to break the omnipotent stranglehold of the airwaves that broadcast television had. The solution was to simply purchase commercial advertising time and have the stations play my tapes along with their other commercials.”

When I first saw his commercials in the screening, I couldn’t even imagine what his wanted to do through them and once I read his comment about them above, the purpose of this project was still not so clear for me. But besides the purpose of the art, I was really impressed by his novel and quite unconventional way of using commercial as media had been already existing at the moment. Creating new media is of course difficult but I assume that to make a movement to hook people’s attention by existing media more difficult to be successful.

Leave a Reply

