I am the youngest in my family: my brother is 24 and lives in the bay area and my sister is 27 and in veterinary school in Pullman, Washington. My parents still live in the house in which I grew up in the suburbs of Portland, Oregon. The past several holiday seasons my siblings and I have coordinated gifts for our parents that are experience-based. A year ago we all reserved time in our summer to do a backpacking trip with our dad, and last summer we planned some family time at the beach. Our parents enjoy this kind of stuff a lot, but this year my siblings and I all have very little certainty in our schedules, but still want to create a comparably special gift for our parents. What we decided on was to create a video project!

I am mentioning this gift on our blog because the project my siblings and I are doing for our parents reminds me a little bit of the videos we watched after Tongues Untied last Monday. They are self-made movies telling the videomaker’s personal stories in a bit of a window into their life kind of way. My siblings and I are trying to do a similar thing– we are recording short clips of simple common moments from our lives- both of ourselves and also through our own perspective out on what we see, and at the end of the semester I will compile it into one episode of the lives of my siblings and I from August to December of this year. The video is special too because my siblings and I are pooling in to get my parents a used but nice tv, which we will play the video on as we introduce our parents to their new screen.

Before taking this class I did not realize how making videos like this is actually a form of producing media. It is not media that would be particularly exciting to people for entertainment value- no companies would pay to advertise during it. But as candid footage of people in our particular positions in society, it could be interesting, and tells a whole lot more about the actual world and actual real people than a lot of the content on mainstream television and in mainstream movies.

Leave a Reply

