Tongues Untied was interesting because it addressed the silencing of homosexuals, and also created a presence strongly. It kept away from political statements and rather showed ‘normal’ people doing ‘normal’ things, as well as showing some queer custom. It was an interesting balance to trying to accurately represent queer culture as well as not alienate viewers, so that someone watching it, maybe a closeted person, could see that it’s not that as scary to embrace one’s sexuality.

This movie definitely left an impression on me to open up my eyes when discussing the topic of social acceptance of homosexuality in society. I was unaware of how grave the struggle actually was for this matter to simply be seen as socially normal. While I felt somewhat uncomfortable, I understand that this was merely because I was unaccustomed to such an atmosphere, and believe that the film made me more aware of it.

Leave a Reply

