I saw this segment on NPR a few weeks ago and I was reminded me a lot of both Marlon Riggs and the Barbie Liberation Organization. I think it speaks (haha) a lot to the idea of the power of voice and how voice determines the way people are interpreted. I see so many parallels in this NPR piece about women’s voices to Marlon Rigg’s struggle of being taken seriously as a reporter because he had a “gay” voice. While I do think that images are powerful, these pieces really demonstrate the power of audio as well. While people who can see interpret a lot of social situations based on visual queues, I think it is important to think about how we deconstruct audio queues, too. How do our own prejudices affect the way we hear people and affect what we think about what they are saying? In a lot of ways, I think that this is one of the main reasons the Barbie Liberation Organization project was so successful–it forced people to decontextualize what they were hearing and really think about why they hear things a certain way in certain contexts.

Leave a Reply

