I have always been fascinated and interested in advertising. I think it first stemmed from how much they can inspire people. As I have gotten older, my love for it hasn’t changed but my knowledge and awareness certainly has. I have studied many media campaigns and have come to understand their truly manipulative nature. The way Apple’s “Think Different” campaign associated their products with the greatest minds of our time in an effort to make people believe that if they “thought different” and bought Apple products, they too could achieve such greatest and change the world. I mean that’s brilliant. That campaign was revolutionary and turned their whole entire company around which eventually led them to the success they have found today. Yes, I am in awe of their creativity but I am also realistic in realizing the danger of manipulation and false hope. All advertisements do it and we are complacent. On the other hand, I truly believe that advertisements can be positive and can be wonderful when the manipulation is done for the greater good and they are not advertising commodities but instead ideas or a way of life. Ads as such can help people strive for things they wouldn’t originally have gone for. I have considered all of these notions before delving into my study of the representations of women in advertising.

I have also attached the original ‘Think Different’ campaign commercial. Take a look, it’s really great.

2 responses »

  1. alexamuniz says:

    “On the other hand, I truly believe that advertisements can be positive and can be wonderful when the manipulation is done for the greater good and they are not advertising commodities but instead ideas or a way of life.”

    I understand and agree with your analysis of advertising. It is also something that I have trained my mind to be more critical of since coming to college. I just think it is interesting how you say that advertisements that sell ideas or a way of life are more positive than those selling commodities, because I almost think the opposite. It seems like there is more hegemonic power in the advertising of ideas and ways of life, and that can be really dangerous. Often these messages are sent through advertisements of commodities so it is hard to even distinguish the two.

    Advertising is just a really interesting aspect of media to study in general. It really makes you think a lot.

    • Kali Nita Jones says:

      Well it certainly depends on the ways of life or ideals they are selling but I stand by my claim that they can often inspire some beautiful things.

Leave a Reply

