Dare I admit that the City of Claremont is “with it” when it comes to their social media and media savvy tools, uploads, and interactive features on their website. They even pursuade visitors to “CONNECT” on social media by advertising hip lingo on their website and the virtual magazine, language we all most likely instantly associate with platforms, such as Twittah & Facebook, as popular social media terminology.

With an interactive map to locate businesses in town, as well as a virtual magazine that sells a picturesque, quaint, leisurely “Claremont Experience.” The software and tools used to promote Claremont are the same of rival softwares to those we explored during last week’s evening computer lab workshop. I just found it wonderfully amusing that Claremont had invested time in developing their media presence for outreach to tourists or surrounding city folks.  It’s important to consider that Claremont can only prosper and grow if its local businesses are advertised and supported, hence the accessible media tools on the City of Claremont website are beneficial to our beautiful town.

For my manifesto project, I will be exploring mapping software and interactive options for those maps. This is how i stumbled upon the City of Claremont’s website and impressive consumer-enticing tools that promote the town’s shops, restaurants and local healthcare professionals. 

Take a peak >>

Claremont's tech savvy with an interactive map that locates places by category (no, the Claremont Colleges are all neglected from inclusion) AND each location is saved for you to return to...Well, I was surprised!

Claremont’s tech savvy with an interactive map that locates places by category (no, the Claremont Colleges are all neglected from inclusion) AND each location is saved for you to return to…Well, I was surprised!

It's a rival to ISSUU online magazine maker.

It’s a rival program to ISSUU online magazine maker.

SIMILARLY, if you find yourself in the Library restroom, you will most likely see a poster that features our library’s INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT and twitter. The twitter account boasts 2k posts and has a following of ~800 devoted library fans. For some reason, it feels surprising to me because I always associate libraries with a place where phone and technology are put out of the mind and books are manually searched for or slow communal computers serve as technology to help you find a resource. (Except now you can hit “Map It” to locate a book’s location.)

Perhaps I’m more baffled that the librarians can manage a Twitter account, something I am hopelessly incapable of.

Check it out! >>

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 3.21.53 AM

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 3.22.30 AM

(Still workin’ out the hashtag situation…

and the @profile linking,

but I didn’t know libraries had things to tweet.

Apparently they do!)

About Hannah Webster

Hello, my name is Hannah Webster. Brand Strategy, Design & Marketing Consulting | Public Relations in Los Angeles | Research: “VR Digital Storytelling Tech Elicits Empathy in its Viewers”

4 responses »

  1. Haha yes, love this. ALSO just to add the library has a “Chat With a Librarian” function where you can ask a librarian questions over chat. It has been so so helpful when I’m researching stuff or have an issue that can’t wait until the next business day for email.

    http://libraries.claremont.edu/help/askus/im-more.asp

  2. revandrewwright says:

    Absolutely! I remember being thrilled when the Library tweeted back at me once and followed me on Twitter. I was heartbroken when they unfollowed me after I tweeted something inane and probably profane (I think it involved the shark from Jaws and Titanic, though I’m not entirely certain.) Great to see them developing a personality!

  3. hannahmwebster says:

    @eliciasepstein I’m glad you pointed our that resource. You’re right; we’re fortunate to have that kind of instant communication with librarians in times of educational emergencies!

  4. hannahmwebster says:

    @revandrewwright Your post had me laughing when I received notification via e-mail. First, I’m so sorry you lost a follower. Second, it would be interesting to see if you write a (nice) post tagging the library, if they’ll follow you back or respond acknowledging your tweet.

Leave a Reply

