It seems like people can be critical of where you hear your news from no matter where it comes from. Our class has given me better perspective on what kinds of criticism are more valid than others. While I have grown even more dubious about commercial media, and even some online alternative news sources that seem to have questionable motives, having thoughtful discussions with friends still seems to inform me just about as well as anything else can. Two of my friends, Andrew and Noah, have been very vocal following the non-inditement of officer Wilson. Both of them attended the march and protest at Claremont city hall, and Noah shared his experience through Instagram. Here is his post. In case his privacy settings do not allow for others to view it, it is a photo of protestors peacefully gathering outside Claremont city hall with the caption:

“White silence is violence. Being complicit with and benefiting from systematic racism and institutionalized oppression is violent. Worried about a few people looting? What about our looting of human and natural resources from countries around the world and communities right down the street? What about centuries of ongoing exploitation of black and brown bodies for our benefit? If you’re white and this makes you uncomfortable that’s good. Embrace discomfort and use it to push yourself towards solidarity and action. #EmpathizeBeforeYouCriticize #JoinTheMovementRegainYourHumanity”

I think Noah eloquently makes an important point about being complicit while also making an important response to the many posts on social media being critical of the “violent” protests. I don’t think anybody should be patronizing protestors. In a response to similar posts, my friend Andrew reposted an article on facebook. When people repost things on facebook its important to look at what their source is: is it commercial or non commercial? Who does it advocate for? The blog that Andrew’s article comes from, Black Girl Dangerous, seems like a thoughtful, fresh, and non-coercive news source.

Andrew has been posting a lot on facebook, and has been given public praise for his thoughtful reading and sharing. Here is his page if you want to take a look.

2 responses »

  1. laureljaclyn says:

    Thanks for sharing, Tyler. I’ve been thinking a lot about this, too, as I’m noticing more and more of my news is coming from Facebook. However, I’ve also noticed that what I see on Facebook is biased in it of itself simply because of the people I am friends with. I’m starting to feel like I really need to make an effort to expose myself to differing views so that I can become more sure of WHY I think what I think.

  2. tylercohentyco says:

    That is a very good point. I do have some close friends with very different viewpoints than me. Even on issues of race and police, I have friends who are totally on the white supremacist’s side and I have to use restraint to not agitate them and cause an avalanche of argument that isn’t going to convince anybody and that I do not have much time to participate in. It is healthy to expose yourself to opposing viewpoints though, even if we cannot engage in debate with every chirp we hear that does not totally align with our own views. I chose to unfriend one person on facebook because they would barrage me with invites to zionist events which I find comparably racist to the police issues in America. It got to the point where I felt harassed by his overwhelming presence on facebook. I hope that my close friends who are posting all of this good stuff (in my opinion) are able to sway some people into being more thoughtful even if there are some disagreers who choose to stop reading their posts.

Leave a Reply

