The animal slaughter scene in La Hora de los Hornos that was both powerful and shocking. As someone who eats meat, I found it very disturbing (I even looked away for most of the time) but I understood the creator’s point. By having the scene transfer from innocent animals being slaughtered to product advertisements made me realize how separated we are from what we consume. Furthermore, realizing the process that goes from a living animal to a dinner plate. It shows insight to how gruesome working in the food industry can be. However, most of us don’t even think about it as we dig into our delicious meals.

In Pedagogy of the Oppressed, Fiere discusses the idea of humanization and dehumanization. Of course, in this chapter he is referencing humans becoming dehumanized by their oppressor. Rather than actual human beings, their oppressor starts to view them as things. However, I couldn’t help but relate to the animal slaughter scene. When I eat a chicken sandwich, I lose the association of a live chicken to the object inside my sandwich. Although I love animals dearly, it doesn’t cross my mind when I am eating meat. I have eliminated any thoughts of what I am eating was once living. It reflects the idea that our society is so detached from what we eat.

3 responses »

  1. hannahginsberg says:

    I too had to look away during the slaughter scene. I completely understood the importance of showing the slaughter scene but it was just something I couldn’t handle. I think the fact that so many people turn their head when an image like this comes on screen illustrates how we have the privilege of eating what we want and not having to acknowledge how what we’re eating gets to our plate. We are such a consumer society that we consume without even being aware of the process.

  2. alexanderlandau says:

    I also found the slaughterhouse scene disturbing (please see my blog post above). I agree with Hannah that we have become a society that is detached from the realities behind the foods we eat. Will society ever be able to associate packaged meats with the living animals they came from? If more people were educated about meat farming practices, would we change our eating habits? Are advertisements about meat products causing us to loose contact with nature because they are making us believe in false realities about their products?

  3. mollyhaas16 says:

    I agree — I think this scene was all the more powerful because of the reading that we did. Throughout the entire film, there seemed to be this theme of glamour versus gore, wealth versus poverty, the oppressor versus the oppressed. This scene, in particular, illustrated this theme in the goriness of the imagery juxtaposed with shiny, clean images of Life Magazine and the upbeat, whimsical music playing in the background.

Leave a Reply

