Watching the Yes Men are revolting was very interesting because not only were their activisms funny to watch, but also because we were able to see the behind the scenes of how they do it, how they plan it, and the relationship between Andy and Mike. However there was one thing that I could not agree about. On Thursday, when the Yes Men came, they talked about how these activisms are easy and that anyone could make a film. When a student asked, “do you think think that race matters when doing these activisms?”, they said “no, I don’t think it was easier because we were white” and then the audience got loud. If I did the same thing as the Yes Men did, they would probably send me back to Japan and I would not be able to make a living after that because no company would hire me because they would be worried that I would not follow their rules, and do activisms if I disagree with the company. Yes, it might be easy to make an action, but I think that the level of risks that come along with that action is different depending on who is making the action.

2 responses »

  1. zainjazara says:

    I completely agree with you. Unfortunately, I think race plays a huge factor in how actions are perceived, and the whole Black Lives Matter movement speaks to this! I wish I could have shown the Yes Men the video we saw in class that compares how the media reports on a Black crowd versus a White crowd. We we saw young White men burning and trashing the streets, they were just a “rowdy” bunch, but Black protesters were “thugs.”

  2. gabrielledas says:

    Although I agree that in general, the perception of one’s actions are determined, privileged, allowed, denied, etc. by one’s race, in the case of the Yes Men, I would really like to defend their statement that their actions are less-so to do with just race and more to do with economic and educational privilege. These are two very well off, educated men who know what they are talking about in terms of climate change, corporate lingo, business etiquette and that anyone who is willing and able to “disguise” themselves into the worlds that they are infiltrating could easily do the same. And, while much of educational privilege is to do with race and the access that creates to higher education, I was, frankly disappointed in our student body at that moment for so audibly disagreeing with what they had to say even though the question was pointed and essentially called on them to comment on racial privilege although that was not their topic of discussion.

Leave a Reply

