Do you have that one friend who comments on current events and somehow manages to express exactly how you are feeling and exactly what you would say if you were one thousand times more eloquent than you are? Well, that is what happened with me. My friend was able to capture how I feel about the media and people’s responses after what happened in Paris with two Facebook posts (I thought it prudent to keep this friend anonymous):

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 6.57.45 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 7.00.25 PM

In these two posts, my friend manages not only to hit upon the failure of both the media and people to acknowledge attacks in places like Beirut and Afghanistan on anywhere near the same scale as the attacks in Paris, which has nearly ALL my Facebook friends changing their profile pictures to overlay the French flag on top of themselves and writing posts ending in #PrayForParis. I don’t mean to invalidate all of the good intentions and kind words that are being said because they are certainly warranted in the face of such tragedy, but it also just makes me wonder how different the world would be if all the other impacted countries received the same treatment. On a completely different strain, I would also echo the sentiment expressed by my friend in her second post that words and prayers can only do so much; they alone are not enough. To truly make change, we will have to be far more active and involved.

2 responses »

  1. taliat says:

    Perhaps I’m focusing on the wrong thing here, but I actually read a really interesting post a facebook friend of mine made talking about how all of those photo color overlay things make it really hard for her to accessibly browse facebook as someone with some cognitive disabilities and sensitivities to color things. In my mind, just another reason to not go for these types of changes, which purport to be forms of “activism” without actually requiring any effort or action.

  2. meganf says:

    I 100% agree with your friend. I get pretty frustrated when terrible things like these happen and all anyone says is “pray”. That may make that one person feel comforted in their own mind, but can’t they do more than that? Or make a little bit more of an effort? Even if I was a religious person I would pray in addition to researching and trying to figure out the reasoning for things and what I can do to help.

Leave a Reply

