Very interesting talk by Clint Smith.

I was around 12 years old, my friends and I bought Super Soakers and turned the hotel parking lot into our own water-filled battle zone. We hid behind cars, running through the darkness that lay between the streetlights,boundless laughter ubiquitous across the pavement. But within 10 minutes, my father came outside, grabbed me by my forearm and led me into our room with an unfamiliar grip. Before I could say anything, he derided me for being so naive. Looked me in the eye, fear consuming his face, and said, ‘Son, I’m sorry, but you can’t act the same as your white friends. You can’t pretend to shoot guns. You can’t run around in the dark. You can’t hide behind anything other than your own teeth'”.
when we say that black lives matter, it’s not because others don’t, it’s simply because we must affirm that we are worthy of existing without fear, when so many things tell us we are not. I want to live in a world where my son will not be presumed guilty the moment he is born, where a toy in his hand isn’t mistaken for anything other than a toy”

4 responses »

  1. meganf says:

    That story makes me so sad. The fact that a child cannot be carefree and play like his other friends can is such a sad reality of our world. No parent should have to worry about their child being shot for playing with friends.

  2. jessicarice13 says:

    This reminds me of another similarly powerful video I saw a little while back; take a look: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ud54aBOvbp8

  3. kthompso says:

    For my interview, I asked my interviewee how she felt about the racial climate on campus, and she said that she feels like a lot of people think it’s great because they’ve never experienced racism. It’s so sad that these things are taught and passed down, because the reality is this is what parents have to do to make sure their kids are safe. People like to talk about how progressive this age really is, but fail to note cases like Tamir Rice.

Leave a Reply

