I enjoyed reading the “Occupy Wall Street: Harvesting The Salt of the Earth” chapter in Networks of Outrage and Hope: Social Movements in the Internet Age by Castells. I didn’t know much about the Occupy Movement until this reading. I was a first-year in high school when the Occupy Movement began and I didn’t really follow news on the protests at the time. The Castells reading clarified the history, goals and outcomes of the Movement and cleared up some questions I had about the participants’ intentions.

I liked how Castells described Occupy as “a hybrid network movement that links cyberspace and urban space…” The Occupy participants took action both online and in the streets to make their message heard. I knew that participants led protests in cities nationwide, but I didn’t realize that some occupy movements set up camps with tents, kitchens, community gardens and child care centers. These groups were living up to the movements name by literally occupying space. These camps reminded people of the Occupy Movement and showed that participants were serious about actualizing the Movements goals.

3 responses »

  1. kthompso says:

    I’m glad we did the occupy readings as well! I was in high school too when they started, yet I don’t remember a single one of my teachers talking about the movement. It seemed like a far away, separate, irrelevant issue (even though that’s entirely false and still continues to apply to the majority of Americans today).

  2. meganf says:

    I’m on the same page as you. I remember hearing the words “occupy” but I truly never knew what anyone was talking about. I don’t remember anyone really trying to have a conversation about it and I guess I didn’t take the time to look it up. It’s nice to finally know what was going on.

  3. taliat says:

    I always felt that I had kind of a weird relationship to the Occupy movement–I knew the goals of the movement and the philosophies behind it when it first began, but I also knew a lot of people that would go down to where the Occupy tents were set up downtown to get high and generally engage in random hijinks. Thus, it was difficult for me to take the whole thing seriously, and that definitely detracted from my understanding of things.

Leave a Reply

