I am really glad we had a reading about the occupy movement, because until now, I honestly did not know much about it. I knew that the economy was struggling and that people were losing jobs, but that is about all I knew. Reading this piece and getting a bigger sense of this movement and how it affected people leaves me amazed that it was never discussed in any of my classes at the time. Considering this, I feel like schools (especially history classes) need to do more to discuss current events with students. Schools should be fostering discussions about events going on around the world and encouraging their students to take a stand and raise their voices.

4 responses »

  1. kthompso says:

    Yes, I’m completely on the same page! I just commented something similarly on another post. Something I really appreciate about college is that there isn’t a curriculum guide that needs to be followed (like there was at my public high school). After the events of CMC, 2 of my 4 classes had sessions to discuss what happened and to let people talk it out (including this course). It’s nice to have a space to learn and communicate about current issues because that’s how we as students grow, and how we also become more aware. Thanks for the readings, Gina! And thanks for giving us that space to discuss.

  2. gabrielledas says:

    Discussing current events in school gets kids in the mode of learning and caring about world events which, honestly, I feel I lacked as a youth. Not until I came to college did I realize the importance of learning about the global social/economic/political climate so that you know how to change it. Additionally, paying attention to the news allows kids to be critical from a young age of the media and its biases which is really important.

  3. doriebailey says:

    I agree that taking class time here at the 5C’s to discuss the protests was a really good move, because even if the class curriculum isn’t totally related to social justice (like ours), the ideas behind the movements are really important and can be applied to a lot of the other disciplines here–goodness knows that institutionalized racism runs rampant within so many parts of both the higher education system, as well as a lot of the “real world” sectors of work that many of us have already started considering. Learning how to have open, insightful discussions about the issues of today is an incredibly valuable skill that extends beyond the classroom, and I wish more classes took some time out of their regularly scheduled curriculum to do so.

  4. jessicarice13 says:

    I certainly see this as something that could still be improved upon in college, but I think what would be even better would be to bring more of a focus on current events even earlier, like in high school and perhaps even before that. I can see the argument that current events are not something that could fit into standardized testing, but I don’t think that should mean that they are hardly, if at all, discussed at some point during a high schooler’s day at school, even if discussing these current events doesn’t fit into a class’s standard curriculum. Teaching history as something that stays in the past is a mistake, just as is not opening students’ eyes to events in the world in the present moment.

Leave a Reply

