Here is the link to the YouTube playlist Every Single Word Spoken by a Person of Color.

I suggest watching it with autoplay, and simply letting the playlist roll. Each video is very short and when you watch video after video, its message has a stronger impact, in my opinion. What really strikes me about this piece is it makes me as a white person more aware of how unaware I am about the lack of representation in film. Some movies I have really enjoyed are in this series and I never stopped to think about their obvious issues of representation. This series has inspired me to be more conscious and critical of the media I engage with.

For more information about the creator of the series, Dylan Marron, you can visit his website which is www.dylanmarron.com. He also has a Tumblr page, which is here.

 

4 responses »

  1. ariatung says:

    It’s pretty crazy the limited roles POC have in films. I knew they were limited, but watching these videos really show it. A lot of the roles they do have, are somehow supporting or helping White people. Many POC are playing waiters, or doctors, or maids, a lot of them are just there for the White characters, and this is really upsetting.

  2. carlywinant says:

    Every Hollywood director, producer, writer, etc. should watch these videos

  3. It’s strange because I am completely aware about how these movies don’t have a diverse cast but often when I’m watching them I don’t notice. I think that growing up watching movies that only have white people made me learn to relate to those characters even though they didn’t look like me. People of color are expected to relate to white characters while white people get upset when a movie comes out and a character that’s often portrayed as white is now played by a person of color.

    Also Tim Burton was recently interviewed and asked why his latest movie doesn’t have a diverse cast and his response shows how clueless he, and a lot of other people in Hollywood, are about this issue.

    “Nowadays, people are talking about it more. But things either call for things, or they don’t. I remember I remember back when I was a child watching ‘The Brady Bunch’ and they started to get all politically correct. Like, OK, let’s have an Asian child and a black. I used to get more offended by that than just… I grew up watching blaxploitation movies, right? And I said, that’s great. I didn’t go like, OK, there should be more white people in these movies.”

    (https://www.bustle.com/articles/186641-tim-burton-explains-why-miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children-features-a-predominantly-white-cast)

  4. bhedigan says:

    These videos are such stark eye-openers to the blatant lack of diversity within Hollywood. The next time someone claims that those looking for diversity in Hollywood are “overreacting” or that directors casting PoC are “pandering,” I’m going to direct them to this playlist. Hopefully the creator continues to expand upon these; it’s a vitally important conversation to continue.

Leave a Reply

