Bell Hooks discusses teaching about race and racism, and using workshops and such to educate people about race. I just put “anti-discrimination workshops” into Google, and endless results come up. Some of the workshops you have to pay for, but others are free. They are so easily accessible, and seem like something every single employer should have to be trained on. It’s so easy to say one is not racist, but there are biases people have that they may not even be aware of. For example, the Implicit Bias tests we took at the beginning of the semester proved this- results I got surprised me because I never really thought about the biases we aren’t aware of, but everyone has them. But these workshops are good and should be mandatory for workers to better our society and the work environments.

4 responses »

  1. Imagine if campuses started implementing these workshops? I’m curious to see what the response would be? especially at the 5Cs in general. I agree that these workshops are so beneficial and would better our society and general environment at school.

  2. carlywinant says:

    I agree, it would be really interesting to see the 5C’s reaction/results with something like this. It would certainly bring more awareness to people, the question is would it make a difference in people’s actions.

  3. palomapineda19 says:

    I agree that anti discrimination workshops would be interesting to implement at the Claremont Colleges, but something else I have been introduced to, which I think would equally prompt discussion, is the question: got privilege? In one of my classes we discussed the idea of a privilege walk and how this can dispel or enhance our perceptions of each other as classmates. If anything, these issues of discrimination and privilege in my opinion are amplified on a college campus where everyone is living in the same environment. I would love to see a workshop like the one you mentioned above at the 5Cs and see how our implicit biases taint our view of each other and the world around us.

  4. bhedigan says:

    It’s interesting you mention this, because I’ve noticed that SCORE (Scripps’ Communities of Resources and Empowerment) hosts various workshops every semester that are meant to not just educate allies, but to highlight the racism that occurs within the 5Cs. However as these workshops are mandatory I don’t know how well they are being utilized by allies (I know I myself am guilty of not taking full advantage of what SCORE is offering). I think you are correct in saying workshops such as these SHOULD be mandatory, as otherwise it is relatively easy to turn the other cheek and continue claiming ignorance of the racist society we participate in.

Leave a Reply

