I just want to provide a perfect example of the page in The Medium is the Massage I brought up in class on Monday. Here is the image:

screen-shot-2016-10-12-at-5-45-34-pm

I took this as showing how naked skin isn’t a big deal, and how our society has become so scared of it- more so relating to women. There is constantly policing of women’s bodies and clothing. And it’s done by men and other women. From being told that we can’t wear tank tops with thin straps in high school, to being judged for showing “too much skin” by other girls, and among other criticisms.

I saw this article a few weeks ago, and I think it perfectly demonstrates how out of control it has become. This girl’s shirt is in no way even see through or anything! The teacher would definitely have had to be looking really closely to “feel uncomfortable.” This type of behavior always made me wonder why we focus so much on teaching women how to dress, but not men how to behave and respect women.

Montana Teen Stages Protest After School Demands She Wear Bra

4 responses »

  1. carlywinant says:

    This is so true!!! I went to an all girls school for 7 years before Pitzer where we wore uniforms and we were all CONSTANTLY getting lectured for our skirt lengths and anything they saw as inappropriate uses of the uniform. I remember girls would get in serious trouble for these kinds of things. I never understood why the school cared so much about it because we all certainly didn’t.

  2. krystalyiranli says:

    Agree with you. When I first read this page of the book, I didn’t really get the idea the author is trying to say, but after reading the similar demonstrations including “the wheel is an extension of the foot”,”the book is an extension of the eye” and “electric circuity is an extension of the central nervous system”, I started to understand what he is trying to say. Our society definitely pays too much attention on the “clothing”, regardless of its original purpose and meaning.”Clothing” has already became an object that is much more important than the body; rather than just an extension of our bodies.

  3. alicecmullin says:

    This stuff gets my blood boiling. My high school didn’t have a very strict dress code, but we couldn’t wear strapless things. One day a boy lost a bet and came to school in a strapless dress, which everyone thought was funny. Not a single teacher or administrator shamed him or hindered his education by making him change, but they absolutely would have if he were a girl wearing the exact same thing.

  4. oliviaklugman says:

    This is so true, and reminds me of the free the nipple campaign. What happened to that? I haven’t seen a lot of free the nipple posts on social media lately, and I assume it’s still technically illegal for women to be topless in the US.

    In my middle school, we had a very strict dress code propagated by our female principal. Every time a girl was wearing a skirt or shorts or tank top, she would be forced to change or go home, which interfered with learning. Not only has this prompted me to think a lot about how my middle school experience was filled with more rape culture than high school or college (dress code, boys touching girls inappropriately without their consent, objectification of women), and how middle school teachers and principals can guide middle schoolers to avoid this toxic culture early on.

Leave a Reply

