I just saw a trailer for this project about what it’s like to be a 16 year old girl in 2016, and it seemed relevant to our discussion about Youth Media. It consists of 16 girls from all over the world from different backgrounds talking about what it’s like to be 16 years old in this day and age. Although I don’t think the project is directed by someone younger than 21, I think it is important to hear voices of diverse youth. However, thinking about our discussion of “inclusivity of voices” in media, I realize that the inherent bias of media never allows everyone’s voice to be heard objectively. Regardless, I’m excited to see this in its entirety.

 

16 in 2016

2 responses »

  1. carlywinant says:

    This looks so good! Thanks for sharing this. I’m definitely interested in watching this. Especially because one of the girls (the one from Los Angeles) goes to my high school! I had no idea she was in this and accomplishing so much. Frankly, all these girls sound remarkable and I think it’s really interesting how this project is profiling all these different young women.

  2. krystalyiranli says:

    This is so interesting. One thing that surprises me a lot is how education influences their lives. Almost every girl talks about their high school life or their expectations towards college. Education serves as a tool shaping their personalities, social network and even future.

Leave a Reply

