We talked a little bit more about Dylan Marron today during the questions part of our presentation. I looked into his website more to see if he had, in fact, done anything more relating to Every Single Word in relation to #OscarsSoWhite. He hasn’t done anything of the sort as far as I can tell, but he has done a lot of other videos relating to race, sexuality, and more. I’ll post a link to the video tab of his website for those who would like to watch some of the other stuff he’s done. He has one video in the Popular Videos section called “How to compare #BlackLivesMatter to actual hate groups” which is relevant to our class. (I’d link you right to that video, but I can’t figure out how because I am inept at technology…)

http://www.dylanmarron.com/video/

3 responses »

  1. ariatung says:

    Dylan’s work is super interesting and really opens your eyes to the issues in media relating to race. I personally was not aware that actual news channels were comparing the Black Lives Matter movement to hate groups and saying that it is killing Black people… that is insane. Some of the reporters said it is “anti-America” and is “racist” which is absolutely ridiculous. I like how his work explores other issues as well such as sexuality.

  2. carlywinant says:

    I can’t believe that Dylan Marron isn’t more well known and popular on the internet! He’s videos are informative, insightful, and hilarious. I think a lot of people, especially young people/college students, would benefit from seeing his videos.

  3. How easy it is to contact Dylan? I think it was be super beneficial and awesome for him to come in and speak. Maybe to our class or to the general 5c’s. I think he has a great ability to use humor to inform people at our age about issues that are serious and prevalent in america today. But again, I don’t know how hard that it would be to get in touch with him.

Leave a Reply

