In light of this week’s past election I wanted to touch on how the media played a part in the disillusionment of the American people over the past six months. While we all thought that there was not a chance in Hell that Donald Trump would become president, Tuesday night proved us all wrong. But how could this happen?? Since Clinton and Trump were the official parties’ nominees, the media has made it clear that Hillary was the sure fire winner. Every week my newsfeeds flooded with celebrity endorsements, personal posts from famous athletes and major corporations, and tweets and memes openly supporting Hillary Clinton. The night of the election there was not a single doubt in my mind that we would be electing our first madam president. But what the media didn’t cover was everyone else. Middle America, the South, the hicks of Nebraska. While the liberal, metropolitan coasts, hot with wealth and celebrity made it seem like Hillary had it in the bag,  the media-and subsequently the consumers of it-failed to recognize the rest of America. The rest of America that clearly were not on the same page. So now we uncover the vast silent majority we failed to see before. With a heavy heart I have now been exposed to the people I don’t see on my media feeds. I think this was the very devastating wake up call that made me realize how influential-and how skewed- the media can be.

3 responses »

  1. kristenhong says:

    This is really interesting. I never thought about it that way. Do you think the polls also relied heavily on social media and that’s why a majority of them were wrong?

  2. I’m reminded of this short segment from ABCs “This Week” from July in which someone says Trump could be the nominee but everyone just laughs. I agree in that the media made it seem like there was no way Trump would win but here we are.

  3. carlywinant says:

    I think it also depends on what kind of media someone focuses on and what media is around them. Living in LA and going to school in Claremont, I rarely encountered pro Trump ads or saw any pro Trump commercials on TV. But it makes me wonder what other parts of the world experienced in terms of media and the election. I feel like more conservative states must have had a different experience than Californians did.

Leave a Reply

