After this election, it seems that there has been more of an explosion of anger and fights on Facebook than any other political event. I have to admit I have participated in this, and my posts have gotten more publicity and attention than ever before; one post expressing my anger and shock, which I now realize was unproductive and ignorant (as a white person expressing shock at racism and xenophobia), got over 400 likes and 80 shares. People I had never heard of were commenting opposing beliefs and fights started in the comments. This has happened with almost all of my facebook friends and every time I post something it has the same controversial and popular response.

Many people threaten to unfriend people who outwardly support Trump because they don’t feel safe being their facebook friend anymore; I’m almost positive that huge judgments are being made about people’s acquaintances and some friendships may be ending. I agree with peoples’ rights to unfriend those they don’t feel safe being friends with anymore, but I wonder if faceboook arguments are productive or unproductive? Personally, I’ve experienced both; facebook comments have led me to understand where Trump supporters are coming from and helped me explain in a non-heated way how their decision to overlook his bigotry will harm others more than help them. I think the MOST important thing to note is that this election is no longer about Republican versus Democratic beliefs, it is now about a vote is equivalent to an attack on identities, which makes it a highly emotional event.  I’ve also gotten even more angry when people post completely ignorant and incohesive comments. Will all of the social media madness surrounding the election lead to a deeper understanding or will it lead to extreme divisiveness?

2 responses »

  1. That’s a tough question, “Will all of the social media madness surrounding the election lead to a deeper understanding or will it lead to extreme divisiveness?” Coming from a liberal minded person I want to be able to believe that social media will lead to a deeper understanding of the madness that came from the election, and I want to believe people in our country are capable of doing that. However the election did happen, and our country made a decision and because this decision has been made its now hard for me to believe that people in our country are understanding, because I have too seen Facebook create way more of a divide then it was before. But I hope things will lead to a deeper understanding, I hope.

  2. alicecmullin says:

    I struggle with this too. As much as I want to think I can change my Facebook friends’ minds, up to this point I have never been able to actually have a good dialog with anyone who didn’t agree with my views via Facebook. I guess I’ll just have to keep trying.

Leave a Reply

