Admittedly, I did not pay as much attention to the Occupy Wall Street movement as I should have. However, I vividly remember watching the pepper spray incident at UC Davis. Rewatching the video again today in class, I was reminded of something really strange that came out of that video. People began making the officer who used the pepper spray into a meme wherein people would superimpose him into other images. I have no idea what to make of this: was it trying to make a fool of him? Raise awareness of his and other police brutality? Were they celebrating him? If anyone has any ideas, I’d love to hear them. 

2 responses »

  1. carlywinant says:

    My guess is that its purpose was to highlight how ridiculous the incident was in the sense that these people were peacefully protesting and suddenly they’re getting pepper sprayed. These memes make fun of the fact that this guy would basically pepper spray anyone no matter what they’re doing, even the Beatles and Spongebob.

  2. I would agree, I think that these images help show people the sense of randomness and un-expecting nature of this police officer doing this to these peaceful protestors.

Leave a Reply

