I have been writing my thesis about the iPhone as a tool of cultural imperialism, and since the election I have not been able to touch it. Something about it grossed out and I couldn’t quite figure out why. For weeks I stared at my paper and couldn’t write a word, something inside of me knowing it wasn’t right. Upon reading The Media Ecosystem, I realized I had been missing an incredibly large part of the argument. THE ENVIRONMENT! I had unknowingly left it out completely from my argument. Some of the quotes that stood out to me so much are:

“the primary economic model of colonial media is to enclose the cultural commons through intellectual property laws, monopolization, and control of the technological infrastructure” (López, P. 42).

“The goal of colonization and its key implication for media is that people have to be trained to take on an alien perspective as their own. In one example, the great anticolonial writer Frantz Fanon described this psychological condition as having black skin with a white mask we adapt the mentality and belief systems of colonization as a mask, with media encouraging us to accept the exploitation as normal, even desirable.” (López, P.16)

“Hegemony’s center of gravity is based on a convergence between information cartels, centralized energy monopolies, consolidated financial trusts, multinational corporations (food, pharmaceuticals, mining), and the global security state that shores up the planetary corporatocracy. In the short run, for these groups, this is a very ‘successful’ system. A small number of people are getting very, very, very rich from it. Like trolls, they thrive on other people’s misery and can only succeed in conditions of chaos.” (López, P. 47)

And…

“Unlike the alien-like mentality that permeates the world system, as earthlings we have an innate ability to empathize, feel love, experience beauty, seek connection, and desire wholeness. Our capacity for war, greed, destruction and delusion is not unnatural, but neither is it normal or inevitable. It is the result of conditioning, manipulation and trauma…ancient cultures, believed in the anima mundi—world spirit. It is common for indigenous cultures to view the universe and all its creations as alive. So instead of the modern Euro-American cultural assumption, ‘I think, therefore I am”, they believe ‘it all thinks, therefore I am”. They live in a participatory and reciprocal cosmos as opposed to a vertically controlled, hierarchically structured system of reality” (López, P. 20)

Leave a Reply

